Only The Brave

Posted: August 19, 2013 in Motivational Moments, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

idols

Last week, I had the opportunity to be a judge at the auditions of a university’s version of “Idols”. Now, if you don’t know what “Idols” is, then I invite you to please extract yourself from the shell you’re living in. Needless to say, it was a night full of cheers and screaming, singing and not-quite-singing, compliments and criticisms. Exactly as it is on television.

One thing that was different, was these auditions were “open”, i.e. people could come and watch you do your thing. This is slightly different from what we see on TV because there, the auditions are “closed”, just having the judges present (of course they are then aired for the rest of the world to see, but in that moment, there’s nobody else but the judges). It made me realise that the “open” format was harder to deal with for each contestant, because they didn’t just have to deal with the three judges, but also a few hundred spectators.

It made me realise that despite being screamed for or booed at, every single person that got on that stage displayed a lot more courage than anybody in that auditorium. No matter what they did, I found myself feeling inspired by many of these singers. Not because of what they sounded like, because frankly there weren’t many who stood out vocally, but more because of the guts they showed to get on that stage in front of judges and peers, and show all of us what they had.

Honestly, only the brave will be seen and judged, fairly or unfairly. Only the brave will be seen for who they are. Only the brave can see an opportunity and use it to find out if they have what it takes.

Only the brave.

By the end of the night, I felt more respect for the contestants than even the people sitting next to me. Here we were, paid to make criticisms… And there they were, no contract, no promise of gain, no guarantee… Yet with none of those things, they were there on that stage. They had more than anybody else: they had their bravery!

It’s not easy being on stage, but as someone who speaks/sings, that’s where I must be for my gift to count. These contestants knew that nobody was gonna hear them in the shower, or whistling to themselves down the street. The only way they were going to be noticed was to risk being ridiculed and heckled by people who were there simply to watch, and to also risk being insulted by judges with the credentials to be credible.

Only the brave will get on the stage, despite the risk!

What does your “stage” look like? Is it a talk you need to have with work colleagues? A presentation you’ve put off? A letter you must send? A person you need to approach with an idea? Is it simply putting your best into the work you already do? Waking up a little earlier?

Well, you don’t have to do any of these things. Just like you don’t have to be courageous. It’s purely up to you.

Only the brave would take an extra step where it seems nobody else would try.

Everyone else? You’re free to be a spectator from afar and make no difference whatsoever…

Only the Brave!

Over.

Comments
  1. ChipoB says:

    I digs this!!!

  2. Chen says:

    Im going to tattoo this blog post on my arm. Thanks 😉

    • The Maze says:

      Just the title?
      Or the whole thing?
      You’d need a pretty big and long arm for the whole thing.
      Maybe a leg..?
      Either way, I’ll be wanting a picture of the tattoo!
      Then I’d make that a blog post all by itself!

      The Maze

  3. T says:

    Yip! Only the Brave!

  4. khomotjo says:

    Hello Maze 😉
    The thing with being brave is that it is liberating…
    I had a presentation for which Murphy’s law stuck REAl HARD!!
    First I was late,then I was dressed for a picnic…It was a deal or break situation.I realised there and then that all I really had was me..I stood up,pretended that I did not know I was inappropriately dressed..And gave it my best…I enjoyed that presentation!!And to this day I have drawn so much strength from that “episode”

    You know Roosevelt’s quote..the glory belongs to the man in the arena,marred with dust and blood..I love the last part:”Who, at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who, at the worst, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”

    xoxoxoxo Pink loves,Khomotjo

  5. K says:

    Hello Maze
    In my own experience I have learnt that bravery is liberating and gives so much strength..
    I had a presentation for which Murphy’s law stuck real hard.
    First I was late,walked in the middle of someone’s presentation and I was dressed for a picnic”literally”.At that moment I learnt that all I ever really had was me.So I walked to the stage with all the courage I could master,pretended I did not realise I was inappropriately dressed and gave it my best shot .It has been my best presentation to this day.What is more?I have drawn so much strength from that episode..I call it my lighthouse moment…

    I think Roosevelt summarised it best in his famous quote”The glory belongs to the man in the arena,marred with dust and sweat”..love the ending..”Who, at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who, at the worst, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”

    xoxoxo
    Purple loves
    Khomotjo

Leave a Reply

