Ask Others About You

Posted: August 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Image

Just a quick piece of advice: Ask Others About You!

In your quest to know who you are and what you’re about, introspection is usually given the most weight. Your ability to reflect and ponder on the life you’ve had, your experiences throughout the day, and your emotions, is crucial to gaining any kind of self-knowledge that is helpful to you.

Unfortunately, we all suffer from a crippling dose of self-bias, that automatically adds 10 points to anything you do, to make it seem better, or less worse than it actually is. This epidemic of what I call “Perspective Poverty” is what makes us too aware of things that are not important, or totally blind to the things that are! 

So how do you avoid putting yourself on a mountain made of false rock, or finding yourself in “deep” shallow valley? Ask somebody else for their opinion of you!

It’s always shocking to me to see what I’m “endorsed” for on LinkedIn sometimes. I look at some things and say to myself “someone actually thinks I’m good at that???”, but after thinking about it, I realise it might be something I never bothered to consider cos I fooled even myself with my mental self-image. 

You’ll be surprised what some people see in you, and maybe even more surprised by what they don’t see in you (like when I referred to myself as humble, and my really good friend burst out laughing…to the point of tears…I mean, this guy was literally laughing his head off! What a punk!). Of course the trick is to find the right people, but it shouldn’t be too hard, because we know who we’re close to. Hopefully.

So go ahead. Ask someone else about you. Take mental or actual notes about what you find out. It may affirm what you already know, or help you discover some blind spots in your life. Either way, it will benefit you!

Over.

Comments
  1. Consecrated says:

    “CASSIUS:Tell me,good Brutus,can you see your face?

    BRUTUS: No, Cassius; for the eye sees not itself, But by reflection, by some other things.

    CASSIUS: ‘Tis just and it is very much lamented, Brutus, that you have no such mirrors as will turn your hidden worthiness into your eye, that you might see your shadow…

    CASSIUS:Therefore, good Brutus, be prepared to hear: And since you know you cannot see yourself.So well as by reflection, I, your glass,Will modestly discover to yourself. That of yourself which you yet know not of. ”

    Julius Caesar Act 1 Scene 2

    Great to see the Maze back, a much needed reminder to check my mirrors!

    • The Maze says:

      Wow!
      That comment should’ve been the article!
      Thank you ever so much for extra reference you’ve given. Your mirrors are everywhere! Use them.

      The Maze

Leave a Reply

