SHORTCUT: Getting Things Done

Posted: April 20, 2011 in SHORTCUTS
Tags: , , , , ,

It has been an issue for most people including myself, to get things done as and when they should. This is bad enough when you have a deadline, but becomes a nightmare when it’s something you can do “in your own time”. Activities ranging from writing a blog (!!!) to going to the gym, all fall under the latter category that is so hard to deal with.

It takes some pretty serious character and resolve to beat the procrastination bug, and many of us sometimes struggle to find that resolve. Is it fear? Maybe it’s a deep-seated sense of pain coming from childhood? Well, it could be either of those, but I find in my case, it’s usually the third option: LAZINESS!

Hey wait, I didn’t say YOUR name. I’m not even looking at you! I’m just sharing a moment of vulnerability here. This isn’t just to say you (or me..for your sake) are like this in every area of your life. Sometimes however we are trained to prioritize everything except ourselves. We can pay the bills, we can go to work, we can finish that assignment…but taking the walk I said I needed to ages ago, just never seems to happen.

I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty good at distracting myself FROM myself! Read that line again and see if maybe I could’ve been looking at you. I’m not even sure where that started, but it’s happening.

What are you distracting yourself from doing, that could really benefit you personally, even if it’s in a selfish way? Is there a book you should be reading? A person you need to speak to? A situation you need to confront? Whichever it is, you have to resolve to GET IT DONE!

Don’t live your life having done everything except everything THAT MATTERED!
I don’t know about you, but I’m going to have more fun with my camera. I bought it to document scenery I love, so I should JUST take those shots.

Take a shot at YOUR life in the free time you have. Get things done.

Over.

Comments
  1. […] Posts & Pages Loss of Hope = Loss of LifeAlone in the Dark (Part 2) – TrustSHORTCUT: Getting Things DoneAll Apparent But Still SecretMaking of "Hero"Walk About The MazeFuture Factors […]

Leave a Reply

